Google +

What is the Passing Criterion in CBSE Class 10 ?

What is the passing criterion in CBSE Class 10 ?

The Central Board of Secondary Education (CBSE) is a renowned educational institution under the Ministry of Human Resource Development, Government of India. CBSE operates almost 21, 271 schools in India and 228 schools in 25 foreign countries, under affiliation. They conduct public examination for classes X and XII and grant certificates to the qualified candidates.

Passing Criterion for CBSE Class 10 :

CBSE prescribes the passing criteria for X and XII examinations from time to time.

Each subject has the following components.
  • Theory
  • Practical /Project /Internal Assessment
Have a look at the table to get a holistic view on subjects, components and marks.

Students have to acquire 33% in each subject in order to pass. This includes theory marks and practical/project /internal assessment marks added together. In grading system, it means higher than ‘E’ grade.

For instance, if you score 10/20 in internals, then you should score 23/80 in theory exam. That becomes 10 + 23 = 33, which is the minimum  mark. Similarly, if your practical marks is 20/20,  then 13/80 is enough in theory. No minimum mark is specified for either theory or practical component separately.

Post a Comment