Google +

What is the Passing Criterion in CBSE Class 12 ?

What is the Passing Criterion in CBSE Class 12 ?

CBSE prescribes the passing criteria for X and XII examinations from time to time. CBSE senior school (XII) has theory component and practical /project /internal assessment components for every subject, as prescribed in the curriculum.

Unlike class X, the passing criteria for class XII slightly differs. A student has to comply with the below criteria to pass the examination. This is applicable to all the subjects.

  • At least 33% in theory
  • At least 3% in practical /project / internal assessment
  • At least 33% as aggregate score of all subjects

CBSE has prescribed for every subject, maximum and minimum marks in both components. A student’s marks should be above the minimum prescribed mark, in order to attain 33%.

For instance, a small overview is as below.

For language subjects, the maximum and minimum marks for theory component is 80 and 26 respectively.Whereas for internal assessment component, the maximum and minimum marks are 20 and 6 respectively

  • Likewise, for subjects like Physics, Chemistry, Biology, the maximum and minimum marks go as 70 and 23 for theory. 
  • On the other hand, for practicals, maximum mark is 30 and minimum mark is 9
  • Information regarding this in detail for every subject is given in
  • In the 9 point grading system, E grade equates to the failed candidates.

Post a Comment